bhc logo revised

The HCC Black History Committee was created to provide college scholarships for African and African-American students attending Houston Community College.

Its signature event - The Black History Committee VIP Donor Luncheon - is held during Black History Month in February to celebrate the achievements of African-Americans locally and nationally. 

Click image below for more information and to support the 2024 Black History Committee VIP Donor Luncheon!


Announcing the BHC 100 Club

The Black History Committee (BHC) 100 Club is an exclusive club that recognizes BHC donors that donate $100 and above, annually. Learn how you can become a sustaining member of the 100 Club with your yearly support on behalf of student scholarships!

Become a BHC 100 Club Member


    View BHC 100 Club Members




Voices of Gratitude from recent BHC Scholarship Recipients



The Black History Committee is an Affinity Group of the HCC Foundation. An Affinity Group, including its officers, representatives or agents, acting on behalf of the Affinity Group, or themselves individually, has no authority whatsoever to legally or equitably bind the HCC Foundation, including its officers, board members or other representatives or agents, to any agreement with third parties for services or products that may be related to an Affinity Group event or function that is associated with the Foundation. In accordance with the Affinity Group's Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the HCC Foundation, only the HCC Foundation Board Chair and/or the Foundation President, if so authorized, has the authority to legally or equitable bind the HCC Foundation for any such expenditures.  




Black History Committee Members

Donnell Cooper, Co-Chair
Fheryl Prestage, Co-Chair
Lisa Crawford
Veronica Douglas
Gwen Drumgoole
Sheryl George-Jones
Zandra Henderson 
Debra McGaughey

Contact Information
Email Address: 

The Black History Committee is an Affinity Group of the HCC Foundation and a sub-committee of the HCC Foundation Board Fundraising Committee. 


© 2011 HCC Foundation

3100 Main, Suite 12B12, MC 1148, Houston, Texas 77002
Phone: 713-718-8595 | Fax: 713-718-8631